Forums > Kitesurfing Queensland

1770 and Broadwater Haven Questions

Created by Jonesey32 > 9 months ago, 11 Dec 2018
Jonesey32
QLD, 64 posts
11 Dec 2018 11:34AM
Thumbs Up

I'm looking at spending a couple of days up at 1770 just before Christmas, and I am keen to get as much out of it as possible.

I was looking at this site (www.kitesurf1770.com/ ), for some of the day trips etc. they do (or used to) - but it looks like that site hasn't been updated for a few years and the phone numbers on there don't work.

I was really keen on a trip to Broadwater Haven ( www.broadwaterhaven.com.au/ ) but the accomodation is a bit too much to justify for just myself.

So, a couple of questions:

- Is there anyone in 1770 that still do the types of day trips (particularly to Broadwater haven)?
- Does anyone know if Broadwater haven still allow 'day-passes' if I wanted to go there just for a day (I'll have a 4WD)?

I have been kiting for 18 years, so I'm fine to just wing it and do everything by myself. It's just usually more fun to go with a group and get the local knowledge on conditions/locations etc.

Cheers
Chris

UTB
26 posts
11 Dec 2018 1:09PM
Thumbs Up

I've been up at 1770 for the last few Xmas's and will be there again this year. The guy who was teaching / running trips there (Andy) is still about but the time I last spoke to him (Xmas last year) he hadn't renewed his insurance so wasn't doing lessons (running it as a business) anymore. Top bloke if you run into him - super helpful. I emailed the guys on the website and they put me in touch with him.

Hardcarve1
QLD, 547 posts
11 Dec 2018 4:21PM
Thumbs Up

Another top spot is Middle Creek north of 1770.

Gilly3
QLD, 794 posts
11 Dec 2018 4:42PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
Hardcarve1 said..

Have u tried Bustard Head?

Going up to Tannum and working my way back,,,so gonna poke around as many spots as i can find....

Jonesey32
QLD, 64 posts
13 Dec 2018 8:09AM
Thumbs Up