Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

2011 Simon Anderson 10' x 32" Beginners review

Created by milko > 9 months ago, 8 Jun 2010
milko
NSW, 604 posts
8 Jun 2010 5:11PM
Thumbs Up

Ok! so i know that a beginners review probably wont interest a lot of you out there. but i would have loved to have been able to talk to someone who was just starting out and had tried a few boards in the range that i was looking at.. So i hope this will help a few starters in finding the right board..
First a bit about me.. I am 40y/o 6'3" 95kgs.. I have been surfing short boards for 30+ years and was never really interested in stand up..
About 2 months ago a friend gave me a 09 10'6" Naish to sell for him on seabreeze.. so i thought i had to give it a go. I was immediately hooked and started looking for a board of my own while continuing to ride the Naish.. About 2 weeks ago the Naish sold and my mate gave me his 2010 Starboard 9'8" x30 Element to use.
I found the starboard (for a beginner) easier to ride in the waves and still had almost as much glide as the naish in the flat.. definitely preferred the Starboard.. Anyway after almost doing my head in trying to decide on which board to get i finally bought the Simon Anderson 10' x 32"..