Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

Jimmy Lewis 9'5" Striker - First Impressions

Created by Wodenau > 9 months ago, 8 Jan 2020
Wodenau
NSW, 67 posts
8 Jan 2020 5:10PM
Thumbs Up

Jimmy Lewis 9'5" x 31" Striker (144 litres)

I'm a long time Starboard fan-boi so when my local Jimmy Lewis rep wanted me to try out this longboard-style SUP I was not so much sceptical as apprehensive.

First, a bit about me. I'm 61 years old, 6' tall and weigh 110kg. Overweight but relatively fit for my age. I've been surfing for 46 years on shortboards (single fin, twin fin and thrusters), longboards, and for the past 10 years, on SUPs. I transitioned to SUPs due to lower back problems. SUP riding has improved my core stability and reduced my back issues dramatically. I have SUP surfed Hawaii, New Guinea and Taiwan twice. I live on the NSW Central Coast so I mainly surf reef and beach breaks but I occasionally ride point breaks when I get the chance.

I own the following Starboard models: 8'2" x 32" Widepoint, 8'6" x 31.5" Hypernut, 9' x 33" Hero, and 10' x 34" Whopper. That pretty much covers everything. As you can tell, I'm a fan of width. After all, you spend most of your time standing around in the line-up waiting for waves so you may as well be stable and comfortable. I find it also keeps me more energetic because I'm not struggling to stay upright all the time.

So, the Jimmy Lewis?

I like it. It rides like a longboard so if you're transitioning from longboarding to SUPing you will make the change very easily. You can do all the longboard things: walk the board, drop knee turns, tail stalls, and nose riding is a breeze thanks to the full deck grip which is very easy on the feet. It surfs rail to rail easily and transitions without bogging down. Roundhouse cutbacks into the white water were not a problem.