Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

Starboard Pro 8'3 (110L) or 7'10 (104L)?

Created by Antone > 9 months ago, 13 Jan 2020
Antone
9 posts
13 Jan 2020 5:46PM
Thumbs Up

Hello everybody,
Please I need some help.

I have a custom board of 8,1 X 29'' and 107liters. I weight 90Kg (sometimes a little bit more...).
My Sup level is advanced but not proficiency. I spend a lot in the water and I am a tenacious person. I have been paddling for 7 years.

I am happy with my current board as it is quite stable and for overhead waves works very well. It is important to have reduced volume with medium-big waves and even more important with strong waves but of course in small waves it can be a little bit slow for my weight.

But it is time to change for a new one.

The point here is that I do not know which board is suitable for me between Starboard Pro 8'3 (110L) or 7'10 (104L)?
I have seen in the video from Sup Magazine review that the Starboar pro 7'10 with 104 Litres is suitable for 90Kg but Starboard recommends up to 85kg. Also it is stated that the board is very stable.

I am unable to test any one of them and I have to choose. I am worried if the 104 litres can be so reduced volume that is going to be too slow or sinked or .....I like that it is 7'10 as the 8'3 seems to be too much.... I do not know.

Can you please help me? Anyone that I have tried both board?

Thank you very much.

Bender
WA, 2221 posts
13 Jan 2020 6:52PM
Thumbs Up

Get a custom. Speak to Scotty at SMIK. He can guide you to the exact size and shape you need. I find his shapes have heaps of stabiity. Even my 94L 8"0'x27 is pretty stable. Scotty is da man????

Antone
9 posts
13 Jan 2020 7:41PM
Thumbs Up

Thank you very much for your prompt response,
Unfortunately, I live in Tenerife and I would prefer a dealer in case of guarantee needs. Smik boards at the moment are not available in a surf shop.

Antone
9 posts
14 Jan 2020 9:24PM
Thumbs Up

Sorry please, any comment on my topic?? thank you