Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

Surfability of BIC AceTec 10 6" vs NSP

Created by stevehobart > 9 months ago, 30 Jan 2017
stevehobart
12 posts
30 Jan 2017 9:13AM
Thumbs Up

Hi everyone, I'm 53 and 65 kilo's, living in Southern Tassie . I've been SUPing on flat water for around 5 years and occasionally venture into the surf (small - up to shoulder height) and while I can surf ok consistently, I am by no means highly competent !! Most of my surfing has been with my NSP 11 foot board - a board which is probably too big for me, however I started out with this board (both flat and surf) and it has had hundreds of hours of use - I love it. I find that in smaller surf it picks up waves VERY easily and seems to be very tolerant about whether or not I have placed myself in exactly the right place in the surf. When catching a wave I put weight forward but move back towards the tail when riding - the board seems very tolerant about where I stand too, enabling me to consistently catch and stay on waves even though I am pretty much a beginner (it gets a bit scary when the surf gets up though, with all that volume!).
I recently got a second board, a BIC AceTec 10 6, mainly for my 13 year old son. I love the board, good price for a family, nicely made , great on flat water. However, I am really struggling to catch small waves consistently with this board, I have to put a lot of weight forward to catch the wave and it seems very particularly about where I stand - if I move too far back (even on a wave), the wave passes me by....I have decided to go back to the NSP in the short term in the surf.

I realise that the issue is probably with my lack of skill, however I would be interested in peoples comments and experiences with these boards - do I just have to adjust my riding style with the BIC or am I doing something fundamentally wrong that the NSP just lets me get away with?

regards

steve

CAPWP
66 posts
30 Jan 2017 12:20PM
Thumbs Up