Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

2022 All Water Board recommendations?

Created by NHPaddler > 9 months ago, 3 Feb 2022
NHPaddler
5 posts
3 Feb 2022 7:48AM
Thumbs Up

Looking to upgrade my sup in 2022. I've been paddling a 2019 Starboard Allstar 14x26 for 2 years. I paddle primarily in the ocean with strong currents, tides, and wind. The Allstar has been a great first board, but I have found the primary stability to be "twitchy" with great secondary stability. I don't notice it in calmer conditions, but in open water situations with cross currents, wind, boat wake, etc., I spend more time focusing on stability vs paddling speed.

I've been fortunate and been able to paddle a few other boards for comparison. The 2018 Blackfish (14x25) was super stable, but not as fast. The 2019 NSP Carolina (14x24) was great, but I stuffed the nose going into large swells where the Allstar would maintain some speed and punch through. I even paddled the 2021 Starboard Sprint (14x23) and thought its primary stability was better than my Allstars.

I'm interested in open water races (Blackburn challenge, Carolina cup, etc) and am 6 feet tall and 200lbs. My shortlist of boards is as follows:
1. SIC Atlantis 14x24
2 Infinity Blackfish Dugout 14x24
3. Starboard Allstar 14x24
4. NSP Carolina 14x23.5
5. Speedboard Speeder GS 14X26

I've heard the Blackfish is slower than the rest on flatwater. The Atlantis doesn't drain water from the cockpit as quickly as you'd like. The Allstar still sounds like it is lower in primary stability than the other boards. The Carolina looks like they've reduced the volume in the bow to prevent it stuffing in waves, but I'm concerned about the durability of the cockpit rails given previous issues.

Since it's almost impossible to demo boards here in the northeast in the USA and they have all changed designs significantly, I'd welcome any thoughts, input, or experience with any of the boards listed or another brand/model I should consider.